Scholar Recognition Program virtual award ceremony to be aired June 10

A virtual award ceremony celebrating the 2020 Daniel B. Swift Scholar Recognition Program awardees will be available for viewing online on June 10, 2020 at 6 pm. (CLICK HERE TO VIEW)

Students and their mentors chosen to receive the 2020 Scholar Recognition will be recognized according to the format used at previous ceremonies held annually at SUNY Oneonta‚Äôs Hunt Union, before social distancing restrictions were put in place.  Sponsors who pledged support will be recognized, and recognition books and framed photos and certificates will be distributed.  Keynote Speaker Nick Savin, departing ONC BOCES District Superintendent, and Master of Ceremonies Eric Schnabl will lead the recorded virtual ceremony as well.

The video is being prepared by Mr. Steve Craig, former President of Commerce Chenango and veteran broadcast journalist.

The Scholar Recognition Partnership Program, now in its 17th year, is intended to enhance relationships between the business community, schools, and institutions of higher and continuing education, while recognizing outstanding scholastic achievement by a member of the graduating classes of the public, private, and parochial secondary schools in the DCMO and ONC BOCES supervisory areas. Student scholars are selected by local school administrators on the basis of scholarship, leadership, and service. Student awardees in turn recognize specific mentors from any grade or class for having had a significant and beneficial influence on their education.

This program and partnership began as an Otsego County Chamber of Commerce initiative, but its planning committee has grown to include representatives of area businesses, DCMO BOCES, ONC BOCES, the Catskill Area School Study Council, SUNY Oneonta, SUNY Delhi, Hartwick College, and Business Sponsors.

Our warmest congratulations are extended to these honored students  and their teacher-mentors. Many thanks go out as well to the program sponsors, school district administrators, and planning committee  members from all sectors who support this meaningful business/school connection each year.

School District

Student Full Name

Mentor Full Name

Afton Central School

Zachary Gardepe

Brandon MacNaught

Andes Central School

Britney Davila

Robin White

Bainbridge-Guilford Central School District

Nathaniel E. Henry

Daren Terpstra

Charlotte Valley Central School

Cassie Pierce

Danielle Dorsey

Cherry Valley - Springfield CSD

Matthew Mosenson

Merrilyn Clapper

Cooperstown Central School

Nora Jensen

Glen Noto

DCMO BOCES --Harrold Campus

Carly Jane Bower

Barbara A. Fletcher-Blake

DCMO BOCES Chenango Campus

Sophia D'abbraccio

Sandra Sheldon

Delaware Academy Central School

Kayleigh Verspoor

Benjamin Moyse

Downsville Central School

Jadyn Colao

Christine Baldauf

Edmeston Central School

Ariah Mitchell

Liz Vetter

Franklin Central School

Madelynn Ackley

Jayne Bolton

Gilbertsville-Mount Upton CSD

Ethan Newman

Lynne Talbot

Gilboa-Conesville Central School

Alexa Dumas

Michelle Fleischman

Greene Central School

Valerie Stracquadanio

Jessica Schindler

Hancock Central School

Kelsey Young

Douglas Turner

Hunter Tannersville Central School

Elisa Pan

Gina Pellettier

Jefferson Central School

Jessica Fagan

Stephanie Hillis

Laurens Central School

Jordan Weir

Brian Roecklein

Margaretville Central School

Kevin Charles Johnson

Shane Maher

Milford Central School

Ethan Freer

Eamonn Hinchey

Morris Central School

Monica Dugan

Julene Waffle

Norwich City School

Michael Squires

Alison Locke


Keeley VanValkenburgh

Jake Boyle


Isabel Horan

Andrea Alban

Oneonta City School

Alexander Bitterman

Jennifer Sitts

Otselic Valley Central School

Cassie Agren

Jenny Osowski

Oxford Academy High School

Jadyn Munson

Jen Scaturro

Richfield Springs Central School

Isabella Hudziak

Jaime North

Roxbury Central School

Zoe Mattice

Rinda Mattice

Schenevus Central School

Hugh Gallagher

Christine Gollin

Sherburne-Earlville Central School

Layne Sulton

Scott Bugbee

Sidney Central School

Kiana Bacon

Joseph Waltz

South Kortright Central School

Cody Mattice

Gary LiCalzi

Stamford Central School

Claire Kletchka

Elaine Jaycox

Unadilla Valley Central School

Claire Converse

Danette George

Unatego Central School

Helen Higgins

Paul Willis

Valley Heights Christian Academy

Ryan Andrew Brooks

Mr. Robert Bowker

Walton Central School

Isaac Vesterfelt

Clarence LaParr

Windham-Ashland Jewett Central School

Kimberly Gonzalez

Michael Porter

Worcester Central School

James Z. Odell

Thomas Moon

Print This Article
View text-based website